In the Episcopal Church our ministry is a shared ministry between clergy and laity, each working according to his or her own gifts and callings to further the ministry of the Body of Christ. The governance of our church is also a shared governance. The highest decision making body in our church is actually not the Presiding Bishop (though his role is profoundly important). Rather, the highest decision making body is the General Convention, comprised of a House of Deputies with both laity, priests, and deacons and a House of Bishops with all the bishops of the Church. Neither house can act without the consent of the other and the House of Deputies can always call for a vote “by orders” ensuring that the clergy never pass an action without the laity.

This shared governance continues on down to the parish level. The rector of a parish has oversight of the spiritual life of the parish, leading in areas of worship, teaching, faith formation, and other program areas. He also is charged with administering the business of the parish. The Vestry of a parish are prayerfully given the financial trust of the parish. They set and monitor the budget, approve significant expenditures, administer funds, maintain buildings, and choose those members of the parish who will represent the parish at deanery and diocesan gatherings. The Vestry also works with the Rector on discerning the long-term mission of Christ in their community, communicating regularly about their shared ministry to ensure that it is healthy and faithful.

At St. John’s our Vestry is comprised of twelve members, three of whom are elected each year for three-year terms. Thus, the membership is constantly rotating, ensuring that all those called to leadership in the parish serve and that our vision is always as clear as possible. The Rector chairs Vestry meetings. The Vestry is led by the Senior Warden. They are both assisted by the various officers of the Vestry. The Junior Warden watches property concerns, the Treasurer oversees finances, and the Secretary ensures good record keeping. The Treasurer may or may not be an elected member of the Vestry.

Our current Vestry at St. John’s is listed below. The year after their name is the year during which they will retire from Vestry at the January Annual Meeting.

Parishioners are always welcome to attend Vestry meetings and to bring their voice to the discussions and ministry of this body.

Brad Pierce (2019) – Senior Warden

JT Thompson (2019) – Junior Warden

Sherry Wallmark – Clerk

Betsy Clemente – Treasurer

Jeff Hartmann (2021)

Mary Jannings (2021)

Randy Libby (2020)

Gerry McLaughlin (2021)

Jan McMahon (2019)

Gwyneth Stephenson(2020)

Sandy Swanson (2020)

Becky Thompson (2019)

Bob Wallace (2020)

Roger Wilson, Jr. (2021)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.